Tea With Miss Buncle

Eep! I’ve just found out two of my reviews were quoted in Persephone Books’ Autumn & Winter Catalogue Reader Comments section! (check it out here) This is such a thrill, as both reviews were for books I’ve adored and that have greatly enriched my life this year: Miss Buncle’s Book and Tea With Mr. Rochester (links to my original reviews in full).This definitely inspires me to order more of their books soon. Any recommendations for more cosy, cute and romantic Persephones?

17 thoughts on “Tea With Miss Buncle

    • Carolyn says:

      I haven’t really looked closely at Greenery Street, I’ll have to do that now. A customer at the library yesterday was asking for a copy of Little Lord Fauntleroy, so I started thinking that maybe reading more Frances Hodgson Burnett could be good.

  1. Rachel says:

    Well done you!

    Greenery Street is the one of the loveliest books ever, and as a (fairly) newly wed, I think you’d appreciate it. Also Miss Pettigrew is very heartwarming.

    The Fortnight in September is marvellous and also very comforting. As is High Wages.

    ANYTHING by Dorothy Whipple can’t fail to delight.

    There are so many more! There isn’t a dud in the whole catalogue, to be honest!

    • Carolyn says:

      Ok, I’m going to check out Greenery Street right away, since both you and Claire have mentioned it. Now that I’ve looked, both that and The Fortnight in September look wonderful! Thanks, Rachel. πŸ™‚

    • Carolyn says:

      I’m thinking I’ll try Someone at a Distance, my library has Every Good Deed which hasn’t been republished yet, but I found it a bit too sad for me to finish.

  2. Penny says:

    I saw those reviews and was about to tell you! No suggestions as yet; I just wanted to squeak excitedly with you, as I did when I saw them! πŸ™‚

  3. Karenlibrarian says:

    The only Persephones I’ve read so far that could be considered cute, cosy and romantic are Miss Buncle and Miss Pettigrew. But did you know that D. E. Stevenson wrote two sequels to Miss Buncle? I emailed Persephone and they said they’d be publishing the first sequel, Miss Buncle Married, next year! So you could cheat a little and read ahead if you’re so inclined (I’ve read them both and really liked them).

    I just finished The Home-Maker by Dorothy Canfield Fisher, and though I really liked it, I don’t know if it could be considered cute and cozy — in fact the beginning is quite depressing.

    And how cool to see yourself quoted in the reader comments! Exciting!

    • Carolyn says:

      I’ve already read Miss Pettigrew, but haven’t got to the Miss Buncle sequels yet and my library has Miss Buncle Married so maybe I’ll give it a go soon. I’m glad they’re bringing out more D.E. Stevenson!

  4. merilyn says:

    What a coincidence I have just picked up Miss Buncle and Tea with Mr Rochester from my internet supplier. I have yet to find a bookshop that has any of Persaphone books let alone know these great authors books they publish. If it hadn’t been for Jane Brocket I would of never heard of them either or found such wonderful blogs.I can’t wait to start them. Oh which first! Just finished Somewhere in a Distance. Loved that too.

    • Carolyn says:

      Hi Marilyn, it’s nice to meet you. πŸ™‚ Tea With Mr. Rochester is short stories, so you can linger over them a bit longer, while I read Miss Buncle’s Book all in one gloriously cosy evening. If books were food, I’d say Tea With Mr. Rochester is like a handful of juicy country raspberries and Miss Buncle like a fresh warm cinnamon bun. If that helps make up your mind! πŸ™‚ I’m also thrilled to have found out about Persephone Books through other bloggers only this year.

  5. Claire (Paperback Reader) says:

    Congratulations, Carolyn! It is a great marketing strategy by Persephone as it really motivates me to read/review more too.

    Miss Pettigrew is the epitome of cosy and cute and I think that The Making of a Marchioness would also qualify (and match your need for Frances Hodgson Burnett…) Personally I love The Shuttle and it is definitely cosy but not cute. Miss Ranskill Comes Home could also match your criteria, although it is not one I have read yet.

    I am planning on announcing this year’s Persephone Secret Santa early this week if you are interested in participating.

Leave a Reply

