Welcome to Virago Reading Week!

This feels like a bit of a repeat of everything I just wrote yesterday, but as today is our official start date, I’ll say it again. Rachel and I are thrilled to be hosting this week and we hope you all find some inspiring reading.

Trying to hunt down everyone who is participating this morning, looking through comments on blogs and simply by googling (send me your links, as I’ll be doing the first round up post this evening!) has got me adding many new blogs to my reader and very excited to jump into Virago Reading Week and to explore their fabulous selection of books and authors. I stayed up quite late last night immersed in Angel by Elizabeth Taylor, so a review will follow, along with photos of my green Virago stack, as soon as I can get off the computer and finish it!

12 thoughts on “Welcome to Virago Reading Week!

  1. bookssnob says:

    Oooh Angel is a good, yet infuriating book. Watch the film afterwards, it’s excellent.

    This is so much fun, isn’t it?! Though we’re going to have our work cut out rounding up all of these wonderful posts!

    • Carolyn says:

      I already saw the movie, which was why I wanted to read the book. I didn’t find her infuriating, just amusing, sad, and deeply engrossing.

      I think I’m going to try to read as much as I can this week, there are so many books tempting me now!

    • Carolyn says:

      Thank you Carol! In the article I linked to in my last post about how Virago came to be founded, Carmen Callil chose to publish Frost in May first because she felt it was her story too, she’d also gone to a convent school. Certainly it has always looked a bit too sad for me!

  2. Elizabeth Roberts says:

    My new blog about starting a book event is called Liz Roberts Moffat Book Events – we are helping Persephone Books launch their reissue of Miss Buncle Married which I have just read for the first time and liked very much – better than Miss Buncle’s Book in fact. I loved The Dud Avocado by Elaine Dundy when I was 17 and will re-read it this week during Virago Reading Week. I met Ken Tynan’s second wife,(Elaine D was his first) but only after Ken had died, at a memorable dinner party chez George Weidenfeld how’s that for name dropping to be getting on with?

  3. Chrissy says:

    I’m racing through ‘Excellent Women’ and will probably blog about my 3 books in one go later in the week.

    Whisper this: I’m not at all enchanted by Barbara Pym’s writing. I’ve read ‘Some Tame Gazelle’ and thought I’d have another try at her. I hope I won’t be thrown out!

    Rosamond Lehmann is one of my very favourite authors so I’ll be re-reading ‘Invitation to the Waltz’ and its sequel ‘The Weather in the Streets’. I’m on home ground there.

    I hope you won’t be overwhelmed with blog work this week. Such a lovely and generous idea from you and Rachel. Thank you!

    • Carolyn says:

      Wonderful! I thought of taking up with twitter for this week, but there’s so much else going on. Thanks so much, I’ll have to see if anyone else has mentioned it on twitter.

Leave a Reply

