A new Persephone in my life

First off, I’m thrilled to say that my Persephone for the Secret Santa exchange finally came today! I got Miss Buncle’s Book, which I have already read and loved, but didn’t have my own copy, so I’m so happy that Selena of my heart rang like glass chose it for me! Thank you Selena and it’s nice to meet a new blogger! She also sent me some lovely chocolates (which my husband claims were clearly meant for him) and bookplates. I was so anxious I wouldn’t get it before we moved, but here it is, to brighten up a day spent cleaning the apartment. (Still. It seems endless. We’ve been slogging through wiping down the sticky fridge, greasy stove, and dusty windows, cupboards, closets and walls for days now. Our furniture is all gone now, which reduced the cat to howls of distress, and we only have a blow-up mattress to sleep or sit on now, which keeps deflating, as they always do. The wrist I sprained earlier this year is sore again, but everything is still chugging along, thanks to chocolates, Miss Buncle and gift cards to bookstores from my family for Christmas. Pictures of all my new books to follow once I have my own computer again.)

Aside from that, I’ve finished The Magician’s Book: A Skeptic’s Adventures in Narnia by Laura Miller and have been taking notes on it since, so obviously I’m inspired by it, especially the last third of the book where she discusses the inspirations for Narnia. I’m interested to explore some of the books mentioned and it reminded me that while C.S. Lewis loved Norse mythology, I prefer Greek mythology, especially the stories of Orpheus, Psyche and Persephone. Thanks as well for the fantasy recommendations, with those plus my Christmas books, many of which were fantasy, and a few books more found off the World Fantasy Awards list, I’ve got an stack I’m keen to get started on once the move is over! I’m also looking forward to getting back to regular blogging then too, so until then, happy reading and Happy New Year!

11 thoughts on “A new Persephone in my life

  1. Claire (The Captive Reader) says:

    I received Miss Buncle’s Book for Christmas and I’m so excited to read it! Glad to hear that you now have your own copy (and that your husband is feeling well enough to mooch chocolates!).

    We did all the cleaning in two days at my apartment. Trust me, your way is better!

  2. Alex says:

    Ah Persephone books….I ordered and received my first three a couple of months ago….I have given away two of them and hung on to the third – they are pretty special aren’t they? Isn’t it lovely how when you are at your lowest point something lovely comes in to your life. Much sympathy this end re cleaning the apartment – there is nothing worse than cleaning somewhere when you’re not going to benefit from the outcome!! I haven’t heard of Miss Buncle – what’s it about? I am currently reading my Secret Santa gift through the Virago Group on Librarything – The History of Love which is proving great solace in the Silly Season…..

  3. Iris says:

    Happy New Year 🙂 And good luck with the move!

    Everyone seems to love The Magicians Book, I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

    As for the Persephone, I seem unable to not get excited about all the gifts for Persephone Secret Santa. I am glad you now have your own copy of a book you loved.

    • bookssnob says:

      What a lovely Persephone to receive at a time of distress! Definitely a calmer and a comforter. I HATE moving so I feel your pain – the cleaning is worse than the packing I find. I’m glad your husband is back with you and I wish you both a much less stressful, happy and relaxing 2011!

  4. litlove says:

    Miss Buncle’s Book is a treat. Have you read Mariana by Monica Dickens (also a Persephone)? That has to rate as one of the all-time great comfort reads. Bleugh for the final house cleaning – I remember all that very well and feel for you! I’m a fan of Greek mythology too, although most of the really good reading I’ve done around it has come about through having a small son. But the Laura Miller book is news to me – sounds most intriguing!

  5. Jenny says:

    I never understand why British authors seem so enthralled with Norse mythology. It’s never done anything for me. The Greeks are so much better! Did you have D’Aulaire’s book of Greek myths as a kid?

  6. selena says:

    Oh thank god! I was so nervous that it wouldn’t make it until January something and then just completely miss the holiday season spirit!

    I’m so glad your husband liked the chocolates (they were meant for sharing!) and I hope the book plates come of use. I always love picking out the perfect book plates for the books that I have.

    Can’t wait until Persephone Reading Week. I wonder if I’ll be able to keep my hands off the one I have left in that time…

  7. Erin says:

    I hate that prolonged deep cleaning that must occur with each move! It always seems endless. I spent a while living on an air mattress in an otherwise empty apartment one summer and know it’s no fun. I had no cat to complain, though!

    I just got The Magician’s Book from the library and am looking forward to reading it. The response around the blogging community seems to be really positive.

    Good luck with your last bit of cleaning! And happy 2011!

Leave a Reply

