Merry Bookmas!

Merry Christmas all, first off! My husband is finally out of the hospital, so that is my main Christmas present. 😀 We also went book shopping last night, our own Christmas tradition, where we set a limit and pick out what we want within that, rather than trying to guess about what the other might really want. We’d rather get the books we want together than be surprised! I picked out Neil Gaiman’s collection of short stories and poems, Fragile Things and the Gormenghast series by Mervyn Peake, a gothic fantasy classic that I’ve been curious about, but then found both books a bit too dark for Christmas reading and was feeling low until I remembered I had a copy of Little Women from the library and that it opens at Christmas.

And although I haven’t read it in about 15 years and had been avoiding it because it seemed too darn moralising, this morning I absolutely loved it. I cried and laughed and felt at home once again with the four good hearted March sisters. I loved Jo, the tomboyish bookworm (I used to like Amy best when I first read it and now can’t imagine why, what a little twit) and treasured sweet and quiet Beth. I had to stop when AMY BURNS JO’S BOOK AND THEN THE MORAL IS JO IS SUPPOSED TO FORGIVE HER. Oh my goodness, I wanted to slap Amy or worse. She’s not punished for what she does! Obviously I’m still a little irked at the preachy tone, especially their father telling them to be ‘good little women’ — I’ve heard that women tend to have depression more often than men because they try to be too internally perfect rather than focusing on outward goals and achievements as men do and Jo wants to, was echoing through my mind — but the reminder to be happy with what I have was also good. Our apartment is very bare this morning since most of our things have already been moved off to my parents’ place and we’ve been having internet tribulations trying to get it working on my laptop and then trying to use the library computers (all full), so now we’re at an internet cafe, but we have each other and our cat. And we’ll be with my family for Boxing Day and perhaps in Florida before the new year!

I’ve loved getting to know so many of you this year and will properly reply to comments at some point when I have normal internet again, for now though, Happy Christmas one and all.

8 thoughts on “Merry Bookmas!

  1. Danielle says:

    Merry Christmas! Glad to hear your husband is at home now and you can celebrate the holiday together! I reread Little Women a few years ago and while I really enjoyed revisiting it the moralizing did get to me by the end as well. Funny to think of the racier books by LMA, but then I suppose Little Women was what society wanted and expected (though probably read all the salacious stories in the sly–lol).

  2. Penny says:

    Happy Christmas, Carolyn! SO glad your husband’s out of hospital and that you had such a great time at the bookshop! I know what you mean about Jo’s book being burnt by Amy! I couldn’t have been so forgiving! The little brat deserved to fall in the water!

  3. Claire (The Captive Reader) says:

    Merry Christmas Carolyn. I’m so glad to hear that your husband is out of the hospital and that you two were able to carry out your (genius) Christmas book-buying tradition. After all the stress you’ve had this fall and winter it’s wonderful that you can now look forward to happy, calm times together (with your books!).

  4. Erin says:

    I’m so happy your husband made it home for Christmas! My husband and I have a similar tradition of setting a limit and then picking out our own gifts together. I haven’t revisited Little Women for years, but I’m hoping to do so in the next year or so.

    Happy New Year!

  5. Iris says:

    I recently read Little Women (or well, these past few months) but I haven’t written about it yet because I struggled with the exact feelings you had, that moralising about being “good little women”! But at the same time I loved it. I didn’t know how to put that into words at all. I guess now I know 😉 I’ll link to your post..

    I am very glad to hear your husband is out of the hospital and I hope you had a good Christmas.

  6. litlove says:

    So delighted to know your husband was out of the hospital for Christmas, and love the book buying tradition. I’d like to instigate one of those over here! I laughed at your account of reading Little Women. Is there a book, I wonder, that makes a reader respond quite as much as that one does? I was astonished when I read it, by how it pitched my emotions back and forth. But ultimately it’s a reassuring, confirming read, just perfect for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

