Purple Christmas

Here is Claire (of The Captive Reader, for the first time in picture) and I at our sort of last get together before we both leave Calgary. (Sort of as in I’m still coming by this weekend to pick up a few of her bookshelves, hoorah! Also keep in mind that it’s really me in the purple scarf and then Claire in the blue but grammar required me to confuse the order.)

As usual, we had a wonderful chat (for four hours!) about books and blogging and how we will manage libraries in our respective new homes and towns. We of course had to discuss Jane Austen and why we are both fans of Miss Bates in Emma but can’t seem to get into Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, despite both having the same quite lovely black and white edition. Briefly visiting Claire’s apartment (about the bookshelves) and seeing her colourful book collection was also lovely, you need to post pictures of them soon, Claire!

Today and tomorrow are meant to be my last ditch efforts to get through about 400 pages of Trollope… we’ll see how it goes. I’ve got a cup of Earl Grey tea and a quilt made by my grandma (purple of course) to snuggle up with. The cross stitch in the photo (also purple, are you noticing the theme of my favourite colour here?) is one I made a few years ago, supposedly for someone else, but I can’t give away that little snowman! My cat was fascinated today while I hung (purple) ornaments on our tree, but this is one of the good things about small christmas trees, I can put it on the table and keep it away from velvety black paws!

Oh and also, something else that is purple: my new layout! I was so excited to find it, since I’ve been wanting a new look (and am considering moving to Blogger and/or a name change to something slightly more open ended that incorporates my other interests, we’ll see what happens there). Did you want to know that I am wearing a purple cardigan right now and that I am more likely to buy a book with a purple cover? Maybe once I’ve moved I’ll photograph all of them for a new header here. Right now on my header you can see my purple copy of The Decay of Lying and Other Essays by Oscar Wilde that I got for my birthday this year, specifically for the picture of the very dapper man in a purple suit and because well… it’s really funny. Who cares if we already have a complete edition of Wilde.

And finally, check out Rachel’s post on Virago Reading Week: it’s still coming in January!

15 thoughts on “Purple Christmas

  1. Penny says:

    How lovely that you were both able to get together and chat about books! Purple is one of my favourite colours, too, and I’m wearing a handknitted purple jumper (sweater) as I type this.
    I like Blogger for some things, but changed to WordPress because it’s SO much easier than Blogger for allowing people to comment.

    • Carolyn says:

      Claire and I have met up a few times now, although now that we’re both moving away, it doesn’t seem like it was often enough. The nice thing about online friends is that you’re always in touch, no matter if you move, but it would be nice to be able to meet more of you in person. I would like to go to Scotland some day and certainly to go back to England, so you never know. (And since I’ve already been to England several times and married a man who lived there for ten years, I think I ought to know what a jumper is by now! šŸ˜‰ Not to mention reading many a British novel! A handknitted jumper does sound very cosy, I’d like to learn to knit someday…)

      I might stay with wordpress now that I’ve found my new layout, we’ll see.

    • Carolyn says:

      I think you live in Florida, which is where my in-laws are too, maybe next time I visit we could meet up! šŸ™‚ Blogging is such a great way of meeting people you know you’ll instantly like.

    • Carolyn says:

      I tend to go through phases with colours, for a while it was blue too and then pink but it’s been purple the longest. I like that it’s a combination of the other two.

      I’ll email you about when we can pick up the bookshelves.

  2. Karenlibrarian says:

    Purple’s one of my favorites too — it’s the color of my alma mater, so it will always be dear to me. And good luck with Trollope — I still have 300 pages of Barchester Towers, though I have several more days. And a Spanish final, sigh. I’d rather be reading Trollope!

    • Carolyn says:

      I’ve noticed purple has become more popular lately so it’s easier to collect lots of things that are purple (even the stone in my engagement ring is iolite, a pale purple) but I remember wearing lots of it in junior high too!

      I’m quite proud of myself, I’ve managed to read 200 pages of Trollope so far today and only have 100 left. I was even sobbing in the cafe while I was reading at one point, not something I expected from Trollope…!

  3. bookssnob says:

    Oooh we are like twins now!

    How LOVELY that you and Claire got to meet. It’s so wonderful meeting with bloggers and chatting for hours because you have so much in common!

    Hope the move goes as smoothly as it possibly can…it’s been a stressful time for you and your poor husband so I hope you have a beautifully restful Christmas! That reminds me…I need to look out for a post Christmas present for you!

    • Carolyn says:

      Yes, I was looking at this layout because you used it and then I noticed it had a purple option. So that settled it. šŸ˜€

      Thanks so much again for all the encouragement, Rachel, Claire and I talked about wishing we could meet up with you too. (If you ever want to come out anywhere west, even to Portland, we both agreed we’d be there to meet you!)

  4. Eva says:

    Fun new layout! Now that I’ve dyed my hair red, I’m lamenting my lack of purple shirts…I only have 2 sweaters, neither of which are even cardigans! I do have some purple dresses though! šŸ™‚

    And it’s exciting to put a face with Claire’s name! hehe

    • Carolyn says:

      When I dyed my hair red, I liked wearing purple with it too, it looks so vibrant.

      I actually had a dream last night that Claire and I randomly ran into you in a hotel… perhaps too much blogging on the brain!

Leave a Reply

