Trollope, stress, Banff & a Virago list

So this is another this and that post. My husband’s wound from his stomach surgery this summer has been re-infected, or rather, didn’t heal properly in the first place and so we’ve been trying to deal with that… while he’s back at work, unable to get another sick note. We’ve also decided we will have to move because of this, to stay in a small cottage on my parent’s acreage until he can get better. (So we’ll sort of be like the Dashwoods! Except in an even snugger cottage than theirs…) We’ll probably be moving in about a month, just before Christmas, so between packing and trying to look after my husband, I may not be able to blog as often. Right now I’m feeling so emotionally overwhelmed I don’t know how to reply to everyone’s recent wonderful comments, although I want to let you all know how much they mean to me.

I’m also hoping to squeeze in a few more library reads of some Virago writers before we move to a smaller town with a sadly smaller library. I’ve put some Winifred Holtby, Elizabeth Taylor, Rosamond Lehmann, and May Sinclair on hold, so we’ll see what grabs me! Right now I’m reading Can You Forgive Her? for the Anthony Trollope Classics Circuit coming at the beginning of December. I read The Eustace Diamonds earlier this year and was eventually drawn into it enough that I wanted to go back to the beginning of the Palliser series and I’m especially interested in Can You Forgive Her? because it’s about marriages that don’t seem perfect at first, but eventually get better (I think). In my experience of marriage, we have deepened past our initial romance into an interdependence and connectedness, especially this year, through the surgery and stress. There are few books that portray marriage realistically and also positively, so I hope this is one of them. I haven’t quite settled into it completely yet, but right now, Trollope’s somewhat bland Britishness is cosy enough.

Also, I think I’ve found a complete list of all the titles published in the Virago Modern Classics series, here! I’m seeing some titles I didn’t know were published by them, like I Capture the Castle and Diary of a Provincial Lady, as well as the two Canadian Margarets: Atwood and Laurence. So it’s good to know that there are a few options for Virago week, besides my seven official green books of theirs.

And also, there are photos here. The first is of my husband and I in Banff, one beautiful sunny day about a month ago. One of the very nice things about living in Calgary is the absolutely gorgeous scenery of the Rocky Mountains so close by, we can even see them from our balcony! The second is of the Banff Springs Hotel, which looks like a castle in the mountains. I’ll have to take some snaps of my bookshelves one of these days — I feel more shy about sharing them than pictures of myself! I keep rearranging my books according to new organizational schemes, thinking they have to be just right before I can post pictures.

Finally, I’m pretty excited for the Harry Potter movie this Friday! I’ve reread all the books this year and Deathly Hallows has actually become my favourite. I love how Harry finally goes back to his parent’s home, his home, in Godric’s Hollow, on Christmas Eve…

11 thoughts on “Trollope, stress, Banff & a Virago list

  1. Claire (The Captive Reader) says:

    So sorry to hear about your husband! Hopefully it will be nice to be near your family again though, especially at Christmas, so that’s something. A smaller library is a sad thing indeed. I’ll definitely miss having you in Calgary! If your life isn’t too crazy, maybe we could meet up once before you go?

  2. Helen says:

    Sorry to hear about your husband, Carolyn. I hope he gets better soon.

    I’ll be interested to see your thoughts on Can You Forgive Her. I’m reading Barchester Towers at the moment for the Classics Circuit and I’m loving it so far. I would like to finish the Barsetshire series before I begin the Pallisers, but I do have a copy of Can You Forgive Her? so I might be tempted to read that one next!

  3. bookssnob says:

    Oh Carolyn, I’m so sorry about your husband. Moving is so stressful, I totally understand what that is like! Hope things go very smoothly and that you enjoy living in your new spot, even if it does have less amenities.

    I love that photo of you both! Adorable!

  4. Coffee and a Book Chick says:

    I’m so dreadfully sorry to hear about all the goings on right now for you — I hope things take a turn for the better soon and your husband begins to feel better. What a travesty that he can’t take more time off from work, though! I hope they let him at some point, if only to just rest and be away from the stress of it all.

    I do like your perspective on being the Dashwoods! Looking forward to seeing those pictures as well, and do take the time you need. We’ll all be here when you have more time!

  5. Nan says:

    I am a first time reader, having found you on the ‘in so many words’ bloglist. I’m so sorry about your husband. I hope the move will do him good. It sounds like it could be really fun. A snug cottage – just the words evoke such a nice feeling. I’ll be strolling around your blog reading other posts now, and will certainly be back.

  6. Eva says:

    I’m sorry about your husband and the stress! The cottage sounds lovely though. šŸ™‚

    I read The Eustace Diamonds before I knew it was part of a ‘series’! I definitely want to read the rest of them (and have a copy of Can You Forigve Her? around here somewhere), but I’m working my way through Barsetshire first. I’ve really come to love Trollope. šŸ™‚

  7. Annia says:

    Thank you so much for the Virago list and for writing this blog. I hope that your husband heals completely and I wish you both much good fortune in your new home!

  8. Yvette says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your troubles, Carolyn. I’m hoping all will be well really soon. Take care and do what you must to take care of your ailing hubby. I’ll be thinking of you both. Yes, the cottage does sound lovely. I see you’ve got tons of books going on, sort of like at my house. Books in every room. It’s the only way. : )

Leave a Reply

