Holiday books

So tomorrow evening my husband and I are off for an impromptu holiday at his parent’s cottage in Manitoba. Of course the first thing I had to do was pick what books I was taking!

So far (after pulling two big stacks of books off my bookshelves and then putting half of them back) I’ve settled on Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, since I’ve been rereading them all this year, and a few fun books including an Agatha Christie, I Capture the Castle, The Brontes Went to Woolworths and my two new Persephones that I got for my birthday (and then forgot to write about): Tea With Mr. Rochester and Good Evening, Mrs. Craven. They are so coolly elegant in dove-grey I must take them with me whether I’m in an early 20th century short story mood or not.* I’m thinking of adding maybe a Victorian novel into the mix too (even though the odds of me reading them all in five days is zip) since Wives and Daughters is turning out so sweet and enjoyable, but not sure what. Perhaps ought to go with a Bronte novel, given my other reading choices above, but the ones by Charlotte I have left to read (Shirley, Villette, The Professor) don’t seem much fun. Neither does George Eliot. Maybe Vanity Fair or Cranford. Just in case. Any suggestions for fun light-hearted holiday reading Victorian novels? (I’ve already read Wilkie Collins this year, so probably not that and I don’t like Dickens much. But otherwise…? Historical Victorian novels count too.)

[*Last Saturday Claire of The Captive Reader and I had a mini Calgary book bloggers meet-up. We both brought a lovely Persephone book along as a way of spotting each other! It was wonderful to talk about obscure British books and trips to London and Paris and which Austen characters our parents are like and so much more! It’s lovely to find someone in my currently cowboy ridden city who shares so many interests, that book blogging and maybe Persephone books in particular, can bring people you’ve never met before and wouldn’t have met otherwise, but automatically get along with, together. Hopefully I’ve phrased that coherently as it is past midnight!]

I don’t know if I’ll be blogging much for the next week or just sitting back and enjoying the slow sweet pace of Wives and Daughters. I really don’t know why I didn’t read it sooner (I’d seen the miniseries and thought I knew the story and needn’t bother. Shocking I know.) but at least I get to relax into it now.

8 thoughts on “Holiday books

  1. bookssnob says:

    Victorian yet light hearted? Difficult! I would suggest Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell, that’s lovely. Though you’ve probably read it already. Vilette is not light hearted but it is spectacular – it’s close behind Jane Eyre in my opinion and if you have time on your hands it’s a wonderful book to sink into. Have a lovely holiday!

  2. Claire (The Captive Reader) says:

    You definitely phrased that coherently, saying everything I wanted to say but couldn’t find the words to when I mentioned our meeting in my own post. BTW, I’ve been on an Austen binge since then, watching S&S and now rereading P&P. Lovely.

    SO pleased you’re enjoying Wives and Daughters! Vanity Fair is one of my favourite novels, Victorian or otherwise, and always makes for a fun read. All your other reading picks sound perfect too – hard to go wrong with Agatha Christie or any Persephone and I Capture the Castle is an ideal read at any time of the year. I just picked up my own copy of The Brontes Went to Woolworths but everything I hear about it is positive!

    Have a great vacation!

  3. Penny says:

    I read ‘Vanity Fair’ to my home educated offspring a few years ago and we all loved it. It is SO funny!
    ‘Cranford’ is always great, too.
    I’m reading ‘I Capture the Castle’ at the moment and it’s wonderful. I’m also reading, and loving ‘Good Evening, Mrs Craven’.
    Don’t know if any of that was of the least help…. πŸ™‚

  4. Eva says:

    Cranford is definitely more sweet and light hearted by Vanity Fair! But I second Nicola: Lady Audley’s Secret is great fun. πŸ˜€

    For historical, a really lighthearted one is the first in a new YA series by a Victorian lit PhD A Spy in the House. There’s always Sarah Waters too!

    (Also, I’m always excited when I find another Victorian lit aficionado who doesn’t care for Dickens! We need to form a club. lol)

Leave a Reply

