Paris in July

So I’ll just skip the whole sorry I’m not blogging as much thing (and sorry I haven’t been replying to comments!) and get onto the books.

As a Canadian, I endlessly teeter back and forth between liking the British or the French best, actually I probably like British literature and French history most! French literature is often too pessimistic for me, I’ve found. But while I was reading The French Mistress by Susan Holloway Scott, I found I was much more enchanted by the descriptions of Louis XIV’s Versailles than Charles II’s England. It reminded me that last year I’d been quite intrigued by Marie Antoinette (I love the recent movie about her) and had started on various books about her. As I was wondering Louis XIV or Marie Antoinette? Versailles at what time? I remembered that Marie Antoinette’s oldest daughter Marie Therese (sometimes known as Madame Royale) was the only one who lived through the Revolution out of her whole family and I began to wonder what that would be like, growing up amid such beauty and later roaming Europe, probably forever mourning her family. And today I found a biography of her at the bookstore! Marie Therese: The Fate of Marie Antoinette’s Daughter by Susan Nagel.

And just in time for Paris in July too! I can’t say all that I’ll read for that, especially since announcing my reading plans seems to put me off them, but watching Audrey Hepburn talk about Paris last night in Sabrina, I know I’m definitely getting in the mood. Below is a picture of the Pere Lachaise Cemetery in Paris, on the last day of my honeymoon and a rainy one at that. It was beautiful.

8 thoughts on “Paris in July

    • Carolyn says:

      Thanks Linda! It was a lovely day in Paris (although my husband and I did have a few arguments about who we’d look for first in the cemetery, Oscar Wilde or Marcel Proust!)

  1. Claire (The Captive Reader) says:

    Looking forward to hearing what you think about the Nagel book. When I was young, one of my favourite YA books was The Dark Tower by Sharon Stewart, covering Marie Therese Charlotte’s life from eleven to seventeen. Such a fascinating but tragic life.

    • Carolyn says:

      Yes, I read about that book and have requested it from the library. So far the Nagel book is covering her childhood and the lead up to the French Revolution, describing how she had to endure many long court events as a child in heavy fancy clothes and often looked grumpy at them. I would have too!

  2. susan Holloway Scott says:

    I must have done my job, Carolyn, since Louise de Keroualle very much preferred Louis XIV’s Court to the English one, too. And, to be honest, in many ways I did as well. How could any English king ever rival what Louis created at Versailles? *g*

    What a beautiful photograph! Rain is so much more romantic than sunshine….

  3. Tamara says:

    Oh, you just pressed my happy button – you mentioned my most favourite movie of all time – Sabrina. (Almost deserve a prize just for that!!!) and your photo also brings back memories of visiting that wonderful city. Happy reading – whatever you end up choosing.

  4. Shannon says:

    I think I have been there! At least, I went to a cemetary in Paris that looked like that, I just don’t remember its name and I don’t know how many there are! That’s a gorgeous photo.

    I’ve never seen Sabrina – oh except for that dull Harrison Ford movie, that was called Sabrina wasn’t it?

    I’ve been thinking of doing a post on my visit to Alexandre Dumas chateau … just need to scan in some photos…

Leave a Reply

