A Persephone Teaser

‘We heard that at least half a dozen people were determined to marry him,’ she remarked with pretty scorn. ‘I should think that to meet a girl who was indifferent might be good for him.’

‘Don’t be too indifferent, Cora,’ said her mother with ingenuous ineptness.

~ The Making of a Marchioness, by Frances Hodgson Burnett

I am loving reading these beautiful Persephone Classics (see my last post for a picture), even if they are only library copies! The only problem is that I am being distracted… my mother came over yesterday and there was a BBC Pride & Prejudice viewing and um, I really have to say Colin Firth as Darcy is growing on me. Quite a lot.

That aside, I’m really enjoying my cozy Edwardian reading (The Making of a Marchioness was published in 1901) and so happy to find more comfort books like this! I’m also wanting to start Mariana by Monica Dickens immediately, but unfortunately can’t read both at once. Yesterday the mother bought me two Bloomsbury Group books, Love’s Shadow by Ada Leverson, as well as The Brontes Went to Woolworths by Rachel Ferguson (such a great title ~ one of the Persephone Books is Tea With Mr. Rochester, oh how badly do I want to read that for the title alone!) She also got me my very first Persephone, Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day, the only one in Canadian shops of course. What beautiful books, this finding out about lesser known early 20th century female authors and the small presses that print them in beautiful editions is delightful and all thanks to book blogging.

Back to read as much as I can!

9 thoughts on “A Persephone Teaser

    • afewofmyfavouritebooks says:

      I read The Woman in White & Fingersmith earlier this year, I think I’ll definitely get around to Lady Audley’s Secret eventually. I’ve already read a play version of it, for a theatre history paper on Victorian melodrama!

  1. Allie says:

    I went and looked online but my library doesn’t carry any of the Persephone books. I have definitely seen a few that I want to read, so I may just have to order some. 🙂

Leave a Reply

