a little light holiday reading…

I’m going to be joining in on the Classics Circuit tour of Paris in the Spring, covering many of the novels of Emile Zola! I read The Kill by Zola last year and am looking forward to contributing a review of it on April 23, baby book blogger though I am!

(The one complication being that currently I am on holiday in Florida and my copy of the book is all the way back in Alberta on my shelf at home. But I saw a copy at Barnes & Noble yesterday and I’m sure something can be arranged in that direction…)

I’m looking forward to getting involved with more reading challenges as the year progresses and as I set more things up here, but I really wanted to jump on with this one first. Zola is not my favourite French author, but he is definitely intriguing and I love the time period (the 1850s-60s of the Second Empire in France) that he writes about.

And since I am on holiday right now, I think I’ll write about the dilemma I have every time I go somewhere: what books do I take with me?

On my honeymoon almost two years ago, I read Bleak House by Charles Dickens in England and some of Proust in Paris and those were both absolutely perfect books to read in those cities. Although it makes for a lot to carry around (I made my husband carry my copy of Bleak House in his bag when we went wandering through Hampstead Heath for the day and didn’t read it once…) and both my husband and I tend to overpack on books, so as not to run out and to have enough variety and then also, of course, buy more books!

(My husband manages a bookstore, I work in a library, we are not able to control our urges. The smart choice would be some type of e-reader, but an innocent little $20 book here and there seems so much cheaper and prettier…)

Then, when we went to Florida last year, I ended up trying to reread Middlemarch on the beach, which, while being one of my favourite books, is not a good beach book. At least not once past the first part about Dorothea, she’s the best of it.

On our summer holidays, I took a book of 19th century French history, along with Dangerous Liaisons and A Tale of Two Cities. After a while, that got awfully dull and I gave up on all those.

This year going back to Florida, I’ve been considering what I’d bring with me for months. Something fun for once, I kept telling myself. Holidays seem like a great time to catch up on the classics I’ve been meaning to get to, but if it’s not my kind of book, I’m tired of wasting my holiday reading time on it! I’ve found mysteries work well for traveling and so packed a few Harry Potters in my bag for the plane flights, as well as about… uh,… ten other books. Just to be safe. And brought them all in my carry on bags.

I ended up sitting next to someone who asked me about all my books, turns out she works in a library too! So we had a great time comparing library policies on such fascinating topics as membership fees and fines (no really, I enjoy that kind of thing!) And then, I wanted to read Virginia Woolf. And Proust.

So I guess you never know with books. For the past month or so, I’ve been reading a lot of teen fantasy stuff really quickly (Harry Potter, City of Bones, Uglies, Sucks to Be Me) and was starting to want something more substantial that wouldn’t just feel like yet another jumped up race through a series of increasingly meaningless attempts at a real catchy big seller.

Today I read more of Swann’s Way next to the pool and while it’s not always completely attention grabbing, it’s beautiful and insightful and funny and so personal and thoughtful. Reading this for the second time, I see the humour in the characters that I missed the first time. I also see the heartbreak, from lives lived a certain way and not another, knowing how Proust meticulously follows them their whole life long. The first part of this volume, about his childhood vacation home in Combray, was one of my favourite parts of the whole novel. The beauty of the countryside, the flowers, I loved it. Now I’m entering the second half, Swann in Love, and was almost wanting to skip it and move on to more of the nature stuff in some of the later volumes. But it didn’t seem right and now I’m finding that even the society half of the book offers so much to think about.

This one paragraph has stuck in my mind since reading it the other evening (it reminds me of many of my own social anxieties, online as well as in person):

Dr. Cottard was never quite certain of the tone in which he ought to answer someone, whether the person addressing him wanted to make a joke or was serious. And just in case, he would add to each of his facial expressions the offer of a conditional and tentative smile whose expectant shrewdness would exculpate him fro the reproach of naïveté, if the remark that had been made to him was found to have been facetious. But since, so as to respond to the opposite hypothesis, he did not dare allow that smile to declare itself distinctly on his face, one saw an uncertainty perpetually floating upon it in which could be read the question he did not dare ask: “Are you saying this in earnest?” He was no more sure how he ought to behave in the street, and even in life generally, than in a drawing room, and he could be seen greeting passersby, carriages, and any minor event that occured with the same ironic smile that removed all impropriety from his attitude in advance, since he was proving that if the attitude was not a fashionable one he was well aware of it and that if he had adopted it, it was as a joke.

Proust packs so much into the fictionalized version of his life, it’s hard to remember and share it all (hence why it is my Ideal Desert Island Book!), I can only keep on reading and remembering again.

What are your favourite books to take on holidays?

2 thoughts on “a little light holiday reading…

  1. Eva says:

    I’ve decided I’m definitely going to read Swann’s Way this year! 🙂

    I try to bring a variety of books along w/ me on vacations. Often, I’m driving, so in that case I limit myself to a standard canvas tote bag, into which I can usually fit 15-20 books. hehe

    When I’m flying, and thus have to be more judicious, I usually bring along one ‘weighty’ fiction, one ‘lighter’ fiction, and a nonfiction that’s somewhere in between (perhaps double this, depending on how long the vacation is). Since I’m often visiting friends/family, I don’t necessarily expect to get a lot of reading done! And if I do read everything, I look at it as a great excuse to visit a bookstore and get a couple more books. 😉

    • afewofmyfavouritebooks says:

      I really ought to have considered the ‘I can always go to the bookstore and get more’ option before leaving on this trip! I’ve gone to some bookstore or another every single day so far (two today!), although I’ve only bought two books so far… I am recovering from a minor foot injury, so imagined this holiday would be more sitting at the beach reading, hence the eleven books I carried onto the plane!

      I’m excited you’re going to try Proust, once I started, I haven’t been able to stop!

      (and thanks for the welcome, I’m really looking forward to getting involved in the book blogging community)

Leave a Reply

